thu 21/11/2019

New Year Honours: Sir Tony Pappano, Helena Bonham Carter CBE - and Sir Big Brother | reviews, news & interviews

New Year Honours: Sir Tony Pappano, Helena Bonham Carter CBE - and Sir Big Brother

New Year Honours: Sir Tony Pappano, Helena Bonham Carter CBE - and Sir Big Brother

Knighthoods for Royal Opera head and TV chief, honours for Ronnie Corbett, Clive James and U2 producer

Elevated: Sir Peter Bazalgette, Sir Antonio Pappano, Helena Bonham Carter CBE, Ronnie Corbett CBE

Commercial TV's most influential and controversial figure Peter Bazalgette, mastermind of TV's Big Brother, Ground Force, Deal or No Deal and Ready, Steady, Cook!, is one of four arts knights announced in the New Year Honours. Bazalgette becomes a Sir alongside the Royal Opera House's musical director Antonio Pappano, Apple's chief designer Jonathan Ive and V&A Museum chairman and arts patron Paul Ruddock.

Actress Helena Bonham Carter and comedian Ronnie Corbett become CBEs, as do Scottish Gallery director James Holloway, broadcaster Clive James and the record producer Steve Lillywhite, who has worked with U2, Talking Heads and Siouxsie and the Banshees.

Among the honours are OBEs for the co-founders of the Frieze Art Fair, Amanda Sharp and Matthew Slotover, artistic director of the Roundhouse Marcus Davey, London Olympics arts head Sarah Weir, actor David Harewood (who played Nelson Mandela in TV's Mrs Mandela) and Remi Adefarasin, cinematographer on The English Patient and Band of Brothers. Julia Farron, 89, one of the earliest ballerinas in the Vic-Wells Ballet, precursor to the Royal Ballet, and a former director of the Royal Academy of Dance, is also made OBE. An MBE is awarded to Lyndie Wright, founder of the Little Angel Theatre for services to puppetry.

The full list published today includes these honours in the world of arts:


Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)


Dr Dannie ABSE. Poet and Playwright. For services to Poetry and Literature.

Ms Helena BONHAM-CARTER. Actor. For services to Drama.

Dr Andrew BURNETT. Deputy Director, British Museum. For services to the British Museum and Numismatics

Anthony Charles BURTON. Chair of the Board of the Royal Court Theatre. For services to Theatre.

Ronald Balfour CORBETT, OBE. Entertainer. For services to Entertainment and to Charity.

James Essex HOLLOWAY. Director, The Scottish Gallery. For services to the Arts

Clive Vivian Leopold JAMES. AM. Author, Poet and Broadcaster. For services to Literature and the Media.

Steve LILLYWHITE. Music Producer. For services to Music

James LUPTON. Lately Chairman of Board of Trustees, Dulwich Picture Gallery. For services to the Arts and Philanthropy.

Ian STOUTZKER, OBE. Philanthropist. For services to Music.

Professor Joan WHITE. Lately Director of the Academy and Dean of the Faculty of Education, Royal Academy of Dance. For services to Dance.


Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)


Remi ADEFARASIN. Cinematographer. For services to Television and Film.

Rachel Mary, Lady BILLINGTON. Author and Vice-President, English PEN. For services to Literature.

The Reverend Ronald Geoffrey CORP. Founder and Artistic Director of the New London Orchestra. For services to Music.

Ms Alex Christine CRAWFORD. Special Correspondent, Sky News. For services to Broadcast Journalism.

Marcus DAVEY. Chief Executive and Artistic Director, The Roundhouse. For services to Drama.

Miss Julia FARRON (Mrs Joyce Rodrigues). Ballet Dancer and Teacher. For services to Ballet.

Dr Maggie Mary GEE. Author. For services to Literature

William Alexander Murray GRIGOR. Film-Maker. For services to Architecture and to the Film Industry.

Robin Mackenzie HODGE. Publisher, The List. For services to Arts and Culture.

Nicholas Milne PAYNE. For services to the Arts and Heritage in the North West.

Miss Amanda SHARP. Co-Founder, Frieze Art Fair. For services to the Visual Arts.

Matthew SLOTOVER. Co-Founder, Frieze Art Fair. For services to the Visual Arts.

Ms Sarah Jane St Clair WEIR. For services to the Arts.


Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)


Ralph ALLWOOD. Lately Precentor and Director of Music at Eton College. For services to Choral Music.

Esther Robina Yvette, Mrs ANDERSON. Musical Director, Police Service of Northern Ireland Ladies Choir. For services to Music and to the community.

Ms Margaret Mary APPLETON. For services to Museums and Heritage.

Ms Lorna Frances BROWN. For services to the Arts.

Dr Samuel John BURNSIDE. For services to the Arts in Northern Ireland.

Trevor Alan COWLETT. For services to Music in Oxford.

Ms Karen GALLAGHER. Artistic Director, Merseyside Dance Initiative. For services to Dance.

David HAREWOOD. Actor. For services to Drama. (Robin Hood, Mrs Mandela, The Ruby in the Smoke)

Derek HOLVEY. Conductor, Four Counties Youth Orchestra. For services to Music in South East Wales.

Walford John HUTCHINGS. Musical Director, Pontnewydd Male Voice Choir. For services to Music and to the Community in Torfaen.

John JONES. Master Framer. For services to the Arts.

John METCALF. Composer. For services to Music.

John Black MURRAY. For services to Arts and Culture and to the community in Dumfriesshire.

Clarence SARKODEE-ADOO. For services to Music.

Marilyn Joy, Mrs SMITH. Conductor and Musical Director, Glasgow Phoenix Choir. For services to Music.

Leo SOLOMON. For services to Music in Grimsby

Lyndie, Mrs WRIGHT. Founder, Little Angel Theatre. For services to the Craft of Puppetry.

Add comment

Subscribe to

Thank you for continuing to read our work on For unlimited access to every article in its entirety, including our archive of more than 10,000 pieces, we're asking for £3.95 per month or £30 per year. We feel it's a very good deal, and hope you do too.

To take an annual subscription now simply click here.

And if you're looking for that extra gift for a friend or family member, why not treat them to a gift subscription?


Get a weekly digest of our critical highlights in your inbox each Thursday!

Simply enter your email address in the box below

View previous newsletters

Advertising feature


A compulsive, involving, emotionally stirring evening – theatre’s answer to a page-turner.
The Observer, Kate Kellaway


Direct from a sold-out season at Kiln Theatre the five star, hit play, The Son, is now playing at the Duke of York’s Theatre for a strictly limited season.



This final part of Florian Zeller’s trilogy is the most powerful of all.
The Times, Ann Treneman


Written by the internationally acclaimed Florian Zeller (The Father, The Mother), lauded by The Guardian as ‘the most exciting playwright of our time’, The Son is directed by the award-winning Michael Longhurst.


Book by 30 September and get tickets from £15*
with no booking fee.